Amazing Banana Cashew Coconut Smoothie

I love smoothies as both delicious + filling snacks as well as convoys for healthy food that you might not want to eat by itself like spirulina, maca powder or flax seeds. This recipe handily combines both those aspects with a thick and creamy banana cashew coconut smoothie that has tons of flax seeds for healthy omega-3 oils and drinks like a milkshake.

Banana Coconut Cashew Smoothie

Banana Coconut Cashew Smoothie

This is a perfect afternoon snack; I am always starving after I get back from work and craving something sweet but at the same time don’t want to overeat and then ruin my appetite for actual dinner. This smoothie has become my go to post-work pre-dinner snack and the best part is that its only 210 calories.

Banana Coconut Cashew Smoothie

This recipe is completely vegan, gluten free, paleo and I imagine if you use raw coconut flakes and raw flax seeds it can easily be made raw too…(almond milk is raw right?)

Banana Coconut Cashew Smoothie

Banana Coconut Cashew Smoothie

Banana Coconut Cashew Smoothie

As always I like to make my smoothies with unsweetened vanilla almond milk because its super creamy, tastes amazing and is only 30 calories per cup.

Almond Milk

Almond Milk

Almond Milk

For the bananas you only need half a banana, you can use more if you want it thicker but I just save the other half for the next day’s smoothie (or to top granola with).

Bananas

Bananas

Bananas

I used raw cashews because that’s what I happened to have on hand but feel free to use toasted ones. Although for snacking I prefer toasted cashews the raw ones have a lighter, creamier taste to them thats perfect in this smoothie.

Raw Cashews

Raw Cashews

Raw Cashews

I used sweetened coconut shreds from Trader Joe’s but you can use coconut flakes as well, doesn’t matter as they are going to be blended.

Shredded Coconut

Shredded Coconut

Shredded Coconut

Lastly the flax seeds were added mostly for their omega-3 content but turns out they actually added a nice nutty, toasted flavor to the smoothie.

Flax Seeds

Flax Seeds

RECIPE:

Makes one smoothie.

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup of almond milk
1/2 banana, sliced
1 tablespoon shredded coconut
1 tablespoon raw cashews
1 tablespoon flax seeds
Sweetener to taste (I added Splenda but stevia, agave or honey would work as well)

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Add everything to a blender.
2. Blend until smooth.
3. Taste and blend more if the texture of the flax seeds is too gritty.
4. Drink up.

Banana Cashew Coconut Smoothie

Banana Cashew Coconut Smoothie

Banana Cashew Coconut Smoothie

Banana Cashew Coconut Smoothie

Although I found it unnecessary cinnamon could be a yummy addition to this smoothie or some cocoa powder too. One thing to note is that I think the vanilla flavor in the almond milk makes it so much better so if you are using plain almond milk definitely add a dash of vanilla extract in.

Banana Cashew Coconut Smoothie
Banana Cashew Coconut Smoothie

6 thoughts on “Amazing Banana Cashew Coconut Smoothie

  1. Ohhhh almond milk!! I’ve been itching to try that milk for some time now but am too scared to spend a few bucks on it. Does it actually taste like almonds? Or more like a non fat milk? Have you tried using soy milk for this smoothie too?

    • It tastes more like nonfat milk then almonds but it does have a slight almond taste to it and its creamier than nonfat milk! I love it in cereal and smoothies but I never drink it by myself. If I were to drink it by itself I might buy the sweetened one? Then again I don’t drink any milk by itself because my mom traumatized me when she made us drink lukewarm whole milk as children. Ick.

      Soy milk would work perfectly too! I like soy milk too I just switched to almond because it was a little healthier and when I put milk in my black tea I like the hint of almond better than the hint of soy.

  2. Oh I might have to buy almond milk soon then. I always thought it would have pretty strong ‘almond’ taste to it so thanks for clarifying. I think I’m allergic to milk but I love cream in my coffee so badly so it’s been hard to give up. I LOVE soy milk but can’t imagine using it as a substitute for my beloved heavy cream in my coffee 😦

    I HATE warm milk too!! Aughhh!! It grosses me out. I think I had it when I was young too. I don’t drink milk anymore though – just use it for coffee.

    • Lukewarm whole milk forms this ‘skin’ on top when it starts cooling too. Blerghhhh. I can’t.

      I tried to google ‘whole milk skin’ to link to a picture of it so you could see it but all that shows up from that search is milk treatments for your skin. Haha. But trust me it’s the worst.

  3. OMG!! I totally know what you’re taking about with the milk ‘skin’!!!!! GROSSSS!!!!! Oh you’re giving me scary flashbacks now. Happy Valentines day !

Leave a Reply

