Healthy Snacks

Even though I usually eat healthy meals when I eat at home (eating out is a whole other story) my downfall can be snacks. Naturally the best things to snack on are fruits and veggies. But every now and then you want something salty and crunchy and that might vaguely remind you of potato chips and chocolate and other delicious but perhaps unhealthy things. I try to limit how many snacks I buy because if I have 5 types of snacks in my house I will inevitably rotate between all 5 snacks during the course of the day. If I only have 1 or 2 snacks then it is more likely I will eat less of them since it gets boring to eat the same snack all day erryday.

So everyone is familiar with healthy snacks like nuts, low-fat low-sugar yogurt, etc. but this post is about some new healthy snacks I recently discovered that I had never tried before (and obviously really liked!):

Baked Snap Peas

Snap Pea Crisps

Snap Pea Crisps

Snap Pea Crisps

Snap Pea Crisps

These are crispy baked snap peas. They are salty and crunchy and so addictive. They are also very low in calories. Trader Joe’s makes their own version too and that one is great because they use cornmeal for extra crunchiness. This can seriously substitute potato chips for me, you could even dip it in hummus or light ranch dip!

Snap Pea Crisps Nutritional Information

Snap Pea Crisps Nutritional Information

Dried Peaches

Dried White Peaches

Dried White Peaches

Dried White Peaches

Dried White Peaches

So dried fruit in general is sweet and chewy and can almost (ALMOST) taste like candy. Everyone is familiar with the usual raisins, apricots, cranberries, etc. but Trader Joe’s has a great selection of dried everything. Strawberries, mangoes, pineapple…you name it. One of my recent favorites are the dried white peaches. These are sooo good but not overly sweet. They’re not super low calorie so you can’t just eat the entire bag but definitely a nice little sweet bite.

Dried White Peaches Nutritional Information

Dried White Peaches Nutritional Information

Kettle Corn

Cracker Jack Kettle Corn

Cracker Jack Kettle Corn

Cracker Jack Kettle Corn

Cracker Jack Kettle Corn

Ok. So kettle corn might not seem that healthy but this Cracker Jack version is not only not bad calorie-wise its quite tasty! I love kettle corn and I was wary of this premade version but its delicious and feels like a treat. Popcorn in general is a good snack (as long as its not popped in oil or drenched in butter) because its mostly air. Now I wouldn’t eat this whole bag at once but I liked having handfuls every now and then and I would just roll up the bag and the kettle corn would stay crispy and did not get stale at all over the course of 5 days.

Cracker Jack Kettle Corn Nutritional Information

Cracker Jack Kettle Corn Nutritional Information

Fiber One Chocolate

Fiber One Chocolate

Fiber One Chocolate

Fiber One Chocolate

Fiber One Chocolate

When I saw the commercial for this I really wanted to try it but I was also preparing for the worst since an 80 calorie high-fiber delicious chocolate cereal sounded improbable. However I LOVED this stuff. Its so good with cold milk and it even turns the milk chocolate-y after, like Cocoa Puffs! How nostalgic of sugar-y chocolate-y childhood cereals. Mostly I tend to eat this cereal with milk but this could also be eaten dry if you’re into that kind of thing!

Fiber One Chocolate Nutritional Information

Fiber One Chocolate Nutritional Information

Kashi Go Lean Toasted Berry Crumble

Kashi Go Lean Crisp

Kashi Go Lean Crisp Toasted Berry Crumble

Kashi Go Lean Crisp Toasted Berry Crumble

Kashi Go Lean Crisp Toasted Berry Crumble

I’ve tried a lot of the Kashi cereals because they do high protein cereals that aren’t super sugary. This is my favorite by far. The almond flax seed is a little too crunchy for me and some of them seem too dry but this one tastes like yummy granola. The kind thats served on parfaits and looks deceptively healthy but can actually be kind of high in fat and sugar. I like eating this cereal in parfaits too, layered with Greek yogurt, honey, bananas, strawberries, and almonds.

Kashi Go Lean Crisp Toasted Berry Crumble Nutritional Information

Kashi Go Lean Crisp Toasted Berry Crumble Nutritional Information

So those are the snacks I’ve been eating lately. Hope some of these are new to you and that you discover something new you like! I have some other healthy snacks I’ve been wanting to try like a super low calorie Chocolate Peanut Butter ice cream I saw at Whole Foods so we’ll do another post on healthy snacks later on too!

TIPS:
– A great substitution you can do is when eating cereal to switch almond milk in instead of regular milk. I am by no means someone who dislikes or avoids dairy – I love greek yogurt, cheese and ice cream – but a cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk has 30 calories while a cup of skim milk has 90 calories. I personally even prefer the taste of almond milk for cereal too.
– Silk also makes lower calorie coconut milk and a coconut milk + almond milk BLEND. Both are great if you love coconut.

One thought on “Healthy Snacks

  1. Pingback: Funky Monkey Snacks, Mighty Bananas, Thor, 2.25 Ounce | WWW.MPROINFO.COM

Leave a Reply

